Our Work

View Current Members

The Arizona Mayors Education Roundtable, a WestEd initiative, organizes events throughout the state to bring together diverse groups to improve education. Past meetings have included provocative discussions with state and national leaders as well as working sessions with local educators and community members. Join an upcoming meeting in your community to learn more and get involved.
"'College and career readiness' is the umbrella under which many education and workforce policies, programs and initiatives thrive." (Achieve, Inc., 2012)
With initial funding from the Helios Education Foundation, 10 mayors from across the state have formed the Arizona Mayors Education Roundtable. The virtual organization—managed by WestEd, a research, development and service agency—will provide an important way for mayors to have in-depth discussions about education initiatives and develop common, cohesive strategies for addressing local problems.

View Current Members

Avondale, City of

11465 W. Civic Center Drive, Suite 280 | Avondale, AZ 85323
Phone: 623 333-1000 Fax: 623 333-0101

Kenn Weise, Mayor
Email: kweise@avondale.org
Assistant: Sandy Lopez – slopez@avondale.org, Phone: 623 333-1613

Pier Simeri, Communication Relations/Public Affairs Director
Email: psimeri@avondale.org, Phone: 623 333-1611

Douglas, City of

425 East 10th Street | Douglas, AZ 85607
Phone: 520 417-7300 Fax: 520 417-7149

Robert Uribe, Mayor
Email: robert.uribe@douglasaz.gov
Assistant: Brenda Arenas – brenda.arenas@douglasaz.gov

Alma Andrade – alma.andrade@douglasaz.gov

Flagstaff, City of

211 W. Aspen Avenue | Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone: 928 213-2000 Fax: 928 213-2059

Coral Evans, Mayor
Email: cevans@flagstaffaz.gov

Gilbert, Town of

50 E. Civic Center Drive | Gilbert, AZ 85296
Phone: 480 503-6860 Fax: 480 497-4943

Jenn Daniels, Mayor
Email: jenn.daniels@gilbertaz.gov

Vicky L. Songer, Mayor and Council Assistant
Email: vicky.songer@gilbertaz.gov, Phone: 480 503-6764

Heather Wilkey Bernacki, Chief of Staff
Email: heather.wilkey@gilbertaz.gov, Phone: 480 503-6838

Goodyear, City of

190 N. Litchfield Road | Goodyear, AZ 85338
Phone: 623 882-7776 Fax: 623 882-7091

Georgia Lord, Mayor
Email: georgia.lord@goodyearaz.gov

Lauren Valencia, Assistant to the Mayor
Email: lauren.valencia@goodyear.gov, Phone: 623 882-7782

Rob Bohr, Government Relations & Communications Manager
Email: rob.bohr@goodyearaz.gov, Phone: 623 882-7082

Marana, Town of

11555 W. Civic Center Drive | Marana, AZ 85653
Phone: 520 382-1908 Fax: 520 382-1901

Ed Honea, Mayor
Email: ehonea@maranaaz.gov
Assistant: Karrie Moriarty – kmoriarty@maranaaz.gov, Phone: 520 382-1908

Mesa, City of

P.O. Box 1466 | Mesa, AZ 85211
Phone: 480 644-2011 Fax: 480 644-2175

John Giles, Mayor
Email: mayor@mesaaz.gov
Assistant: Misty Wells – misty.wells@mesaaz.gov, Phone: 480 644-2396

Ian Linssen, Chief of Staff 
Email: ian.linssen@mesaaz.gov, Phone: 480 644-3002

Scott Butler, Government Relations Director
Email: scott.j.butler@mesaaz.gov, Phone: 480 644-2964

Anne Trethaway, Director, Mesa Counts on College
Email: amy.trethaway@mesaaz.gov, Phone: 480 644-4866

Miami, Town of

500 Sullivan Street | Miami, AZ 85539
Phone: 928 473-4403 Fax: 928 473-3003

Darryl Dalley, Mayor
Email: darryldalley@hotmail.com (prefers to be emailed directly)
Assistant: Karen Norris – miamiclerk@cableone.net, Phone: 928 473-4403

Nogales, City of

777 North Grand Avenue | Nogales, AZ 85621
Phone: 520 287-6571 Fax: 520 287-9159

John Doyle, Mayor
Email: jdoyle@nogalesaz.gov
Assistant: Frank Felix – ffelix@nogalesaz.gov, Phone: 520 285-5602

Oro Valley, Town of

11000 N. La Canada Drive | Oro Valley, AZ 85737
Phone: 520 229-4991 Fax: 520 297-0428

Satish Hiremath, Mayor
Email: shiremath@orovalleyaz.gov
Assistant: Lynda Koepfer – lkoepfer@orovalleyaz.gov, Phone: 520 229-4714

Phoenix, City of

200 West Washington Street | Phoenix, AZ 85003
Phone: 602 262-7111 Fax: 602 256-3325

Greg Stanton, Mayor
Email: greg.stanton@phoenix.gov
Assistant: Will Novak– willam.novak@phoenix.gov, Phone: 602 262-7111

Kweilin Waller, Deputy Chief of Staff
Email: kweilin.waller@phoenix.gov, Phone: 602 534-9527

Tim Valencia, Education Manager
Email: tim.valencia@phoenix.gov, Phone: 602 256-3426

Prescott, City of

201 S. Coretz | Prescott, AZ 86303
Phone: 928 777-1100 Fax: 928 777-1255

Harry Oberg, Mayor
Email: harry.oberg@prescott-az.gov
Assistant: Michelle Rush – michelle.rush@prescott-az.gov, Phone: 928 777-1248

Sahuarita, Town of

375 W. Sahuarita Center Way | Sahuarita, AZ 85629
Phone: 520 822-8800 Fax: 520 822-8891

Tom Murphy, Mayor
Email: tmurphey@sahuaritaaz.gov
Assistant: Yisel Suarez – ysuarez@sahuaritaaz.gov, Phone: 520 822-8816

Melissa Hicks, Vice Mayor
Email: mhicks@sahuaritaaz.gov, Phone: 520.822.7143

Teri Bankhead, Assistant to Town Manager
Email: tbankhead@sahuaritaaz.gov, Phone: 520 344-7110

Tempe, City of

P.O. Box 5002 | Tempe, AZ 85280
Phone: 480 967-2001 Fax: 480 350-8996

Mark Mitchell, Mayor
Email: mark_mitchell@tempe.gov
Assistant: Alec Thomson – alec_thomson@tempe.gov, Phone: 480 350-8959

Elizabeth Higgins, Chief of Staff
Email: elizabeth_higgins@tempe.gov, Phone: 480 350-8965

Nikki Ripley, Communication and Media Relations
Email: nikki_ripley@tempe.gov, Phone: 480 350-8846

Tucson, City of

P.O. Box 27210 | Tucson, AZ 85726
Phone: 520 791-4201 Fax: 520 791-5198

Jonathan Rothschild, Mayor
Email: mayor1@tucsonaz.gov
Assistant: Irene Messina – irene.messina@tusconaz.gov, Phone: 520 837-4036

Karla Avalos, Senior Advisor to the Mayor
Email: karla.avalos@tucsonaz.gov, Phone: 520 791-4201

Lisa Markkula, Communications Director
Email: lisa.markkula@tucsonaz.gov, Phone: 520 791-4201

Helios Education Foundation

2415 E. Camelback Road, Suite 500 | Phoenix, AZ 85016
Phone: 602 381-2260 Fax: 602 381-2299

Paul Luna, President and CEO
Email: pluna@helios.org
Assistant: Tammi Crum – tcrum@helios.org, Phone: 602 381-2266

Barbara Ryan Thompson, Executive Vice President and COO
Email: bryan@helios.org
Assistant: Susan Muehlberger – smuehlberger@helios.org, Phone: 602 381-2268

WestEd

2020 N. Central Avenue, Suite 510 | Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602 322-7000 Fax: 602 322-7007

Paul Koehler, Director of Policy Center at WestEd
Email: pkoehle@wested.org, Phone: 602 568-4103
Assistant: Jenni Ryan – jryan@wested.org, 602 322-7005

Collaborative Communications Group, Inc.

1029 Vermont Avenue NW, 9th floor | Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202 986-4959 Fax: 202 986-4958

Kris Kurtenbach, Founding Partner
Email: kurtenbach@collaborativecommunications.com, Phone: 202 986-4955